Heroic skills Revision as of 08:44, 26 October 2021 by Dre
- You must purchase the hero skill before you can take any other heroic skills
- You cannot use heroic weapon skills with mage implements
You must purchase one or more hero points before you can purchase any of the heroic skills listed in this section. These skills (and some items that can be gained in play) allow you to expend hero points to achieve game effects.
If you have a hero point from any source then you may expend it at any time to act as a source of spiritual strength to allow you to overcome or resist a roleplaying effect that your character is subject to.
To use a hero point you must use appropriate roleplaying for the skill or ability that you are using. A heroic blow might be bold and dramatic and accompanied by a mighty roar; other skills should be roleplayed as appropriate.
If you are using an offensive heroic ability and the target does not visibly respond to your heroic call then your blow has not affected them and the hero point is not spent. You only expend a hero point when using a heroic call if the target is affected by the call.
Your character’s hero points replenish overnight.
- You must purchase the hero skill before you can take any other heroic skills.
The first time you buy this skill you receive 2 hero points.
Extra Hero Points
You gain one additional hero point each time you purchase this skill. The cost to purchase this skill increases by 1 pt each time you purchase the skill.
- Requires a weapon between 24" and 84" long
- You can expend one hero point to call CLEAVE once
If you have a hero point then you can expend it to call CLEAVE when striking a single blow with any one-handed weapon that is between 24” and 42” long. If you also have the weapon master skill then you can use the skill with any weapon up to 84” long.
- Requires a weapon between 48" and 60" long
- Requires a phys-rep of a sword, axe, hammer, or mace
- You can expend one hero point to call IMPALE once
If you have a hero point then you can expend it to call IMPALE when striking a single blow with any two-handed weapon that is between 48” and 60” long. You cannot use this skill with a weapon, even a two-handed weapon, that is shorter than 48" in length.
You may only use this skill with a suitable weapon - such as a great sword, Dane axe, or a two-handed hammer or mace. You cannot use this skill with a flail, spear or other polearm regardless of length. If you are in any doubt whether your weapon could credibly deliver a mortal blow, then check with a ref.
Please note, although a great weapon can be between 42" and 60" long - you cannot use a great weapon shorter than 48" with this skill.
- Requires a weapon between 60" and 84" long
- You can expend one hero point to call STRIKEDOWN once
If you have a hero point then you can expend it to call STRIKEDOWN when striking a single blow with any two-handed polearm that is between 60” and 84” long.
Effects that would ruin your limbs are less effective when used against you. By spending a hero point and engaging in at least five seconds of appropriate roleplaying such as slamming your arm against a tree, shaking your head to clear it of pain, or loudly exclaiming that you feel no pain, you can regain the use of one of your limbs that has been ruined by the cleave or impale call. If you make an attack while using this skill the attempt fails. You do not lose the hero point but the roleplaying must be begun again.
You possess an almost uncanny will to survive, or seemingly bottomless reserves of physical stamina allowing you to take blow after blow and keep fighting. You may restore up to three lost hits by expending a hero point and spending at least five seconds appropriate roleplaying of visibly catching your breath, letting forth a roar of renewed vigour or similar.
You may also use this ability immediately after being reduced to zero hits. You fall to the ground as normal, but may then immediately spend a hero point and engage in at least five seconds of appropriate roleplaying. You are not dying and are instead restored to 3 hits. It must be obvious to everyone within ten feet that you are using a heroic skill - this ability cannot be used secretly. Once you have completed the roleplaying you are free to pretend to be dead, but must still follow the disguise rules. If you are paralysed when you are reduced to 0 hits, you cannot use this ability and will not be able to use it once the paralysis wears off.
You cannot attack another character while you are using this skill.
Stay With Me
You may restore one hit to a bleeding companion and stop them bleeding to death by spending a hero point and performing at least five seconds of uninterrupted roleplaying encouraging them to get back on their feet. If you or your target attacks another character or either of you are hit then the attempt to use stay with me fails. Your hero point is not lost but you must begin the roleplaying again. You must be close enough to touch the target and it does not restore the use of a limb that has been CLEAVED or IMPALED.
Get it Together
You may restore three hits to a companion who still has hits remaining by expending a hero point and performing at least five seconds of uninterrupted appropriate roleplaying encouraging them to pull themselves together. If you or your target attacks another character or either of you are hit then the attempt to use get it together fails. Your hero point is not lost but you must begin the roleplaying again. You must be close enough to touch the target and it does not restore the use of a limb that has been CLEAVED or IMPALED.